Trip Hop Summer

by Occult Fan

So alright. Last season, for Spring, for Spring I did a Prog-Rock Spring.

You can read about that here.

Each season I’ve been going through, since Fall of ’22, when I listened to a Miles Davis record every day.

You can believe I have listened through to his entire discography, and then some, and this isn’t even touching on how I have one and only one record on my bedside record table player and that is Kind Of Blue… or how when my best friend Joey and I hung out for one day of ’22 that Summer (Sep 7/8, so, that’s the Lion Twins Activate) we listened to one very important album and that was Bitch’s Brew.

So easily Miles was a natural fit. I started with the listening to one song each season’s day – Mogwai’s “Summer” was last summer, so ok let’s see here.

Miles so Jazz Autumn. Winter Time it was Bach every day – 88 total with how I was listening. This was Winter Classical, or Classical Winter. Then Prog-Rock Spring.

Which brings us to Trip Hop Summer.

Trip Hop Summer is amazing. Right now I’m listening to the first album I began with, in fact, so this is a nice recapitulation moment to be committing this to writing. Had a Red 33 Red 33 Boston No Agenda MeetUp today. An Irish band played, three of them, the singer-accordianist who was trying to pimp out the violinist via tinder. They were the Irish ones. There was a sweet Piscean guitarist. And I asked them if they liked Portishead. More on Beth Gibbons soon.

Hokay. So. This is the song that is happening now.

I have Yes’ The Quest blu-ray playing on my tv/tp for the background to go with this album. More magic.

I think it is important to mention the detail that we were reading both Agrippa and Infinite Jest at today’s meetup.

I say. Forsooth, motherfucker!

So onwards, upwards.

Trip hop was something I naturally gravitated to, having grown-up hearing Unfinished Sympathy, and fond memories of post-college binges with Cardinals and having that song come on and everything making sense so – trip-hop, which, ok let’s see – I made a vow to get 13 vinyl for my collection, trip-hop.

I began naturally with DJ Shadow. I have three lists that I consulted for inspiration, and oh God, just off the top of my head – which is overfilling with all these great albums – like, this each season needs to be extrapolated but the Sun is here now so I’m just seeing this now like the sun is wont to do and the moon is memoria memory so the sun of the past is overwhelmed by the sun of the present. OK.

Now Approaching Midnight!

The Owls Are Not What They Seem.

It Is Happening Again.

So Luke Vibert’s Big Soup. David Holmes’ Let’s Get Killed. Hooverphonic A New Stereophonic Sound Spectacular — same year as Endtroducing and Γ†nima – DJ Shadow . Funky Porcini Hed Phone Sex. Nightmares On Wax – Smoker’s Delight (and Carboot Soul [Thought So…]) and DJ Shadow’s “The Less You Know, The Better”, and like Perdition City by Ulver, Tricky’s entire catalogue pretty much, and the same goes for Portishead. I’ve Blue Lines along with Pork Soda and Signify for the three most important albums of Summer 2014, along with Steely Dan, the usual soundtrack for Red 33 Red 33.

I’ve got both Attica Blues self-titled and Mono has their Formica Blues, and I’m a huge fan of Japanese band Mono, as well, their Scarlet Holiday a very-recent treat. Love both, and also pretty much DJ Krush, and DJ Cam, and Headz 2, Justin Warfield, like, I have a list somewhere written I’ll find and take a picture of – there’s just been so much – you know –

You Know my method is to listen to one song every morning, this Fall Past it was Miles Davis’ Fall –

and in Winter I had Lang Lang’s Aria from Bach’s Goldberg Variations

and

in the spring I listened every morning to

soooo that brings us to the present pregnant moment – get it?

yo!

so between this last project I had going on, Nathan Lee And His Deep State, I started a new one as the Spring began, looks like the bassist from The Flaming Lips did a song the same day, another Piscean – so what it was is GNIXIXING – xing both ways – 999999999 – very powerful.

Each morning I do 100 Sit-ups, 100 Push-ups, 100 Squats. The One Punch Man WorkOut.

You might choose any trip-hop song, to listen to every Summer morning.

I chose

Yes oh shit Smith and Mighty – Bass Is Maternal, and Bomb The Bass… Laika The Weather and Silver Apples Of The Moon and DJ Krush with DJ Food and Weβ„’ and DJ Vadim and Yves Tumor and Cibo Matto (an old favorite) and a new favorite King Krule – and K&D – DJ Kicks and The Herbaliser – OMG OMG OMG no this this this.

Fucking THIS

oh man.

The First Night listening to DJ Shadow, I had ordered his album on vinyl to mark the occasion and then got the legacy edition download. Too many magical things happening that evening to even talk abut it, you know some was just so perfect and personal. DJ Shadow has a new album coming out Oct 27, Action/Adventure, which I will be ordering.

1) https://www.slantmagazine.com/lists/the-20-best-trip-hop-albums-of-all-time/

2) https://www.factmag.com/2015/07/30/50-best-trip-hop-albums/

3) https://www.albumoftheyear.org/genre/33-trip-hop/all/pitchfork/

I love both Tim “Love” Lee and Kid Loco, Confessions Of A Selector came from his last in stock, complete with squished spider and two cool one sticker one magnet figures of hawaiin ish turtle ish anime ish type girls in bikins and that’s just awesome to get his final copy. [story to be inserted upon resolution re: other rare vinyl trip hop re TEF] – so the other one I got on vinyl or one other, coz I’ve got both Smoker’s Delight (that I’ve shared with my Mom! It’s universally good music)- and Carboot Soul… I’ve A Grand Love Story by Kid Loco and it’s just the best-sounding record. That’s something amazing about so much trip-hop. The attention to the engineering is part of the sound almost in a way is unlike any other genre – I love, I was mentioning this earlier, how, it is Smoker’s Delight where E.A.S.E. is saying how it’s not trip-hop on the liner jacket notes.

Twin Peaks part to end Endtroducing….. new Twin Peaks poster by Sacred Bones has that on it. I have some of that clip on a recent No Agenda, in fact, incidentally, which, it was a much nicer clip, but anyways, third edit was finally approved (oy). No problem. I’ve just put Confessions Of A Selector – A Fin De Siecle Orgy of Young Girls, Music, and Money… …..Featuring Tim “Love” Lee on. Feels the right thing for the evening.

OK So that’s about the shape of it for now. I’ll find that picture of my hand-written trip-hop faves. I’m leaving so many off the list right now, it’s just impossible to describe this all right now. One of my best summers ever. And despite the fact that I’ve eaten way too much junk food this evening and the last, I’m feeling better than ever before, One Punch Man workout is the thing to do.

Ninja Cuts, Smoke City’s Flying Away, Neotropic, Red Snapper, and really, for now I’ll finish with this.

I just got wicked deep in to Portishead.

Watching their Live At Roseland has changed my life

I’ll leave you with this.